The BISHOP of Fort Worth South Bend

Bishop John D’Arcy has been a subtle yet clear supporter of the Church and her mission to protect the unborn.

Father John Jenkins president of Notre Dame messed up inviting the Pro-Abortion president.  He published his justification and explanation in the press and did serious damage to the Church in the process.  Bishop D’Arcy tells the truth with charity and clarity.

…Father Jenkins kindly sent me a copy of his letter, and also at a later meeting, asked for a response.

…Since the matter is now public, it is my duty as the bishop of this diocese to respond and correct. I take up this responsibility with some sadness, but also with the conviction that if I did not do so, I would be remiss in my pastoral responsibility.

…As I have said in a recent interview and which I have said to Father Jenkins, it would be one thing to bring the president here for a discussion on healthcare or immigration, and no person of goodwill could rightly oppose this. We have here, however, the granting of an honorary degree of law to someone whose activities both as president and previously, have been altogether supportive of laws against the dignity of the human person yet to be born.

…I consider it now settled — that the USCCB document, “Catholics in Public Life,” does indeed apply in this matter.
The failure to consult the local bishop who, whatever his unworthiness, is the teacher and lawgiver in the diocese, is a serious mistake.

…I pledge to work with Father Jenkins and all at Notre Dame to heal the terrible breach, which has taken place between Notre Dame and the church. It cannot be allowed to continue.

I ask all to pray that this healing will take place in a way that is substantial and true, and not illusory. Notre Dame and Father Jenkins must do their part if this healing is to take place. I will do my part.

http://www.diocesefwsb.org/COMMUNICATIONS/statements.htm

Leave a Reply

